USPS Compass

Squadrons pick up honors for outreach

In September, Chief Commander Ernest G. Marshburn recognized both the achievement of a USPS sea adventurer and the community outreach efforts of eight outstanding squadrons at the 2007 Governing Board in Norfolk, Va.

Watch a video of the awards presentation here.

Shrewsbury Power Squadron member John Gage, who recently completed a three-and-a-half-year circumnavigation of the globe on his 42-foot sailboat, Dream Catcher, received the USPS Juan Sebastian del Cano Award, named for the navigator who completed Magellan’s planned circumnavigation.

During the ceremony, Gage said he could never have made the trip without having taken USPS courses.

The Marketing and Public Relations awards honor outstanding squadron public relations projects and encourage squadrons to spread the USPS message of safe boating locally.

The Charles F. Chapman Award recognizes outstanding scrapbooks documenting squadron local outreach efforts. National Chapman Award coordinator Beyrl Jean Bartholomew said Grand Lake Sail & Power Squadron’s winning scrapbook was an outstanding history of the squadron’s public relations and an excellent marketing tool.

Grand Lake Commander Terry L. Chastain praised Sandra Stone’s diligence in creating the scrapbook.

The Carl C. Mahnken Commander’s Cup honors the best slide show promoting USPS civic service. Lower Rio Grande Valley Power Squadron took first place, and squadron commander Kathryn E. Polt said the production was a concerted squadron effort that was edited by Peter P. Pranis and Kenneth “Rod” Summy.

The Roger Upton Award recognizes outstanding squadron video productions that promote squadron civic service. Winooski Valley Sail & Power Squadron’s winning video introduced the public to USPS course opportunities, safe boating guidelines and the squadron’s social activities. Second place winner Austin Power Squadron produced a video documenting major District 21 events, including the fall conference aboard a cruise ship, and clips of the squadron’s boating classes.

To compete for next year’s awards, squadrons should download and fill out the entry form and submit their work to district public relations officers by 1 April 2008. Please contact Greg Scotten if you have questions. –Greg Scotten

Marketing and Public Relations Awards

Charles F. Chapman Award


Grand Lake Sail & Power Squadron, D/31
Manatee Sail & Power Squadron, D/22
Cincinnati Sail & Power Squadron, D/24

Carl C. Mahnken Commander’s Cup


Lower Rio Grande Valley Power Squadron, D/21
Crystal River Power Squadron, D/22
Milwaukee Sail & Power Squadron, D/10

Roger Upton Award


Winooski Valley Sail & Power Squadron, D/19
Austin Power Squadron, D/21

Back to top | Compass home

Privacy policy | Contact Compass staff | USPS website | Archived issues

© 2007 United States Power Squadrons. All rights reserved.